Running?

You can pretty much ask anyone who knows me well and they will tell you that I am not a runner. I repeat… I am NOT a runner. However, in January I decided to start running to get in shape and look my best for our wedding. Mike and I would head to the gym together 2-3 times a week and it turned out that running wasn’t as bad as I thought. And… I felt great in my wedding dress!! 

Well, now that the wedding is over I’ve continued running but I need a new goal. So today I signed up to run a 5k in August. Just to be clear, the farthest I have ever run at one time is 1 mile, and that was in gym class in 8th grade. I’ve been toying with the idea of a 5k for a while, and my marathon running friends are probably laughing at me, but I finally decided to give it a shot and signed up!

So this morning I decided to try to run before the crazy 100 degree heat got here, but apparently 9:00 isn’t early enough to beat the heat. I survived but I was dripping when I got home! The good news is: my mom gave us an iPod Touch last weekend so I was sufficiently entertained while running. Thanks, Mom!

I tend to get bored while running. Any suggestions for other ways to stay entertained?

Yikes, all this thinking about running is making me tired. Time for some Bachelorette!

5 thoughts on “Running?

  1. I’m so proud of you! I know running has been a challenge, but you’ve stuck with it, and that’s that amazing part. I find that it’s helpful during the school year because I can let my mind take over as I lesson plan in my head while running. I try to think of effective strategies or put together small groups during that time. It’s helpful because there isn’t enough time during the day for that stuff, and it makes the run go by faster. (The challenge is remembering!) When is the race? I want to put it on my calendar for you!

  2. Sara! This is fun! As for running,you’re asking the wrong person. But I’ll brainstorm ways to keep yourself entertained. Love you!!

  3. Sara! A 5k race!! What a fantastic goal to work toward. When is this race? I am so happy for you to be able to find something you enjoy doing and it makes you a happier and healthier girl. Kellie, you, and me should run a race sometime together. Way to go! P.S. I am glad we are entering the blogging world together:)

  4. Pingback: Shopping & RAGBRAI | The Smorgasbord

  5. Pingback: My first (and possibly last) 5k! | The Smorgasbord

Leave a Reply

