Hungry for more Hunger Games!

Cover of "The Hunger Games"

Cover of The Hunger Games

I just finished reading the third of the three Hunger Games books and I’m quite sad that there aren’t any more! If you haven’t heard of The Hunger Games trilogy, by Suzanne Collins, let me tell you a bit about these books. The first book, “The Hunger Games,” takes place in North America in the future. Don’t let this scare you! It’s not all robots and computers! The United States has collapsed and a new country, Panem, has been formed. The government is cruel to its citizens, who once tried to rebel, and requires one boy and one girl from each district to enter the Hunger Games. Those chosen for the Hunger Games must fight to the death until only one child is left, who is crowned the victor. This is the basis of the first book. The second book, “Catching Fire,” and the third book, “Mockingjay,” continue the story but I don’t want to tell you about them and spoil the first book! So get to your library immediately!

Anyway, I finished “Mockingjay” yesterday and was sad to be finished. Today I came home from work and was excited to read and then realized I wouldn’t be reading about Katniss Everdeen. 😦 Additionally, Mike and I went to Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows Part 2 on Saturday and while I enjoyed the movie I was sad that it too has come to an end! I guess that shows how involved I become in the books I read! The coupling of these two events has left me eager to start a new series of books… or start rereading Harry Potter!

Is there a series of books you would recommend?

3 thoughts on “Hungry for more Hunger Games!

  1. I read the first book of the “Uglies”. I picked it up not realizing it was a fantasy serious. The first one was definitely creative, but I haven’t read any of the other ones. I don’t know much about the “Alex Cross Series” by James Patterson, but my mom read them. (E.G. “Along came a spider”)

  2. The Shadow Children books by Margaret Peterson Haddix are good. The first book in the series is Among the Hidden. They are easy reads, I read Among the HIdden to my class and they got really into it.

  3. Pingback: “The Hunger Games” Trilogy | lifeworthsharing

Leave a Reply

