An experiment with leftovers!

Some of the easiest treats to make are those delectable little pretzel-rolo-pecan snacks. I don’t know what they’re called but when I Googled “pretzel rolo pecan” I found several different names including “Rolo Turtles,” “Pretzel Turtles,” “Rolo Pretzel Turtles,” and “Rolo Pecan Caramel Candies.” You can choose whichever one you like best. Anyway, I had made some of these a couple of weeks ago to take on a “camping” trip with the Whitts and I had some leftover pretzels and pecans. When Mike told me he has some friends coming into town this weekend and we’ll be grilling out I thought “perfect! I’ll make some Rolo Turtles (or whatever you want to call them) to take along and use up the rest of those pretzels and pecans.”

So, I had 2 of the 3 ingredients I needed. I was only missing the Rolos. I was headed to the grocery store anyway, so I could have bought some Rolos, but I was feeling a little cheap, stubborn and adventurous. We have a giant Ziploc bag of candy that we have accumulated and never eat. I dove into the bag and came out with a nice assortment of chocolates: Snickers, Milky Way, Twix, Milky Way Dark, Riesen, Reese’s Eggs (yes, they’re from Easter), and even a couple Rolos. I decided with this mix of chocolates I would give it a shot!

I cut some of the bigger pieces in half and plopped them on the pretzels. From left to right we have the Rolos, Milky Way, Milky Way Dark, Snickers, Twix, Riesen and finally the glorious Reese’s Eggs.

I popped them in the oven for 5 minutes, then smushed the pecans on top and threw them in the fridge to cool while I waited… waited… and waited for my official taste tester to get home.

Alas, he arrived and we conducted an official tasting.
Here are the results:
Mike
Milky Way Dark: pretty good, just as good as a Rolo
Riesen: not great, too chewy
Reese’s: thumbs up!

Sara
Twix: a little dry since it already has the wafer inside
Snickers: decent, I was hoping for better
Riesen: gross, weird flavor
Reese’s: not bad, better than I expected considering there is no caramel

Final Verdict:
Mike: “The Reese’s is legit!”
As for me, eh, I’ll stick with the Rolos.

So there ya have it. Even though I wasn’t a huge fan of any of the new ones I’m still planning on having Mike’s friends give them a try. 🙂

Any other thoughts on how we can utilize our giant bag of candy???

4 thoughts on “An experiment with leftovers!

  1. I love your resourcefulness! When you and Michael are student teaching you can always take the candy to the teachers’ lounge–it’ll go quickly there!

Leave a Reply

