Special Guest Rant: Angry @ Birds

Mike is pretty involved in most of the blog posts that I write, and was instrumental in helping me find the courage to actually start it in the first place. So, I’ve decided to allow him special guest privileges when he feels necessary. Today is one of those days. So, without further hesitation, here’s Mike!

Thanks Sara for allowing me the privilege to rant to a captive audience.

Early yesterday morning I was awoken by the whistling of a bird outside my window. While it was a little surprising, because I could hear the sweet melodies above my fan that was set at level 2 specifically to drown out this annoyance, I was not that frustrated by it because this bird was just doing what it does…every frickin’ morning. Annoyance aside, the bird and I seem to have an unwritten agreement that it will be allowed to do its thing every morning at 4 o’clock, as long as it eventually stops, usually around 5:30. This may seem like a long time (and the window occasionally gets shut before the singing stops) but it allows me the chance to wake up and then realize that I still have a few hours to sleep (and in the case of last night, more than a few because it was the last day of summer break 🙂 ), which usually results in a somewhat refreshing nap before the start of the day. Not an ideal situation, but one that I accept and thought was agreed upon by both parties.

Unfortunately last night this understanding was apparently discarded, as the bird continued to chirp all the way to 9 o’clock, with me thinking that he would soon stop and remember the deal the whole morning. You may be thinking, “oh poor me, just get up and shut the window or better yet just get up all together and start being productive”, but this goes against the deal I have with said bird. It’s a matter of principle, just respect the deal that is laid out.

Sticking with the tradition of this blog, I will end with a question:

What should be done about the rogue bird?

Bonus question:

What other animals do we have unwritten agreements with that, if broken, would be really annoying?

3 thoughts on “Special Guest Rant: Angry @ Birds

  1. Pingback: Have you seen me lately? | The Smorgasbord

  2. I’m really sorry about all of this. When my roommates go out of town and I have to take care of the dogs they wake me up (knowing I’m not Mom and Dad and wanting to eat ASAP) beginning at 4 am. This really is horrific when it’s the middle of MN winter and giving into feeding them means I have to let them outside and wait for them etc. I guess be thankful the bird isn’t in your bed breathing his poop breath on you and stepping on your bladder?

  3. Pingback: Things we hate | The Smorgasbord

Leave a Reply

