Lending a helping hand

Last wee my Grandpa Bud passed away. He was a very important part of my life for many reasons and he will be greatly missed. We spent a lot of time together as a family last week and weekend and reminisced about Grandpa. One common idea that kept coming up was just how willing he always was to lend a helping hand. When my family lived in Manchester we lived on a big lot that had lots of lawn and lots of trees. Grandpa was the first to volunteer to help with yard work or to help cut down trees. He also never batted an eye when one of us asked for help moving. His willingness to help in so many ways caught my attention this week because I think that is a very rare attribute these days. Many people, myself included, always think about themselves first. Or, if they lend a helping hand they make sure you know the sacrifice they’re making to help you. Grandpa and Grandma always jump in and help without a second thought, no matter what the task.

My brother now lives in my grandparents’ house and they too have quite a large yard. So, on Friday, Mike, my mom and I went over to help my brother rake the leaves and mow the lawn, knowing there would be a lot of guests for the funeral that weekend. Mike and I don’t get to do a lot of manual labor so we were thrilled to help. Mike checked a couple of things of his “official Iowan list,” including 1. drive a John Deere, and 2. Use a pitchfork. Not only was it fun for us to get our hands dirty, we were also a huge help to my brother who normally has to do it all by himself. We knew we were truly helping my brother, and also living in the image of my grandpa – totally willing to help.

We’ve also been talking about this concept at church during our bible study, A2.  We’ve talked about what it’s like to live in a Acts Chapter 2 community where everyone does anything to help each other. The focus becomes on “us” rather than “I” or “me.” I think my grandpa did a great job of living this lifestyle and I think we could all work harder at looking out for someone besides ourselves. It’s something I want to improve on!

3 thoughts on “Lending a helping hand

Leave a Reply

